Kristine Ong Muslim


"N is for Neville who died of ennui."
-from The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey


Doll breath, doll wag, doll tears-theres nothing
in this room thats made up. Every breadth, every
length procures its special character apart from its

dimension. When the dolls become us, there will be
no need for pretending. So we fix our hair, hold hands,
convince ourselves that there is nobody here but us.

Dream Elements from Parcel #14

Two successive summers
loosen a pigeons wings.

The broken wings self-regenerate
when you touch them, but the
newly formed pigeon has no beak.

You take it to the window sill.
A cat from nowhere pounces on it;

everything is eaten,
except for the wings.

More than six hundred poems and stories by Kristine Ong Muslim have been published or are forthcoming in over two hundred journals and magazines worldwide. Her work has recently appeared in Dog Versus Sandwich, Novelletum, Offcourse, Slow Trains, Sub-Lit, and The Driftwood Review.

"My first memory of a front porch is the one from the house where I spent my childhood. It overlooks a spacious yard full of tropical trees. Living in a crowded city apartment nowadays where a front porch is an impossibility, I imagine my favorite porch to be the one facing a vegetable garden filled with heirloom tomatoes."


Executive Editor
Tom Grimes

Managing Editor
Jane Hawley

Co-Managing Editor
Reyes Ramirez

Poetry Editor
Jennifer Whalen

Fiction Editor
Stan Rivkin

Nonfiction Editor
Heather Lefebvre

Eric Blankenburg

Copy Editor
Sessa Kratz

Interviews Editor
Amanda Scott

Public Relations Manager
Samantha Tanner

Book Reviews Editor
Mallory Chesser

Blog Editor
Josh Lopez

Assistant Blog Editor
Alicia Salzmann

Sarah Howze
Dan Barton
Niko Kyriakou
Theresa Holden
Brandon Ricks
Casey Winters
Rachel Gray
Lawton Cook
Lauren Bull
Benjamin Seanor
James Deitz
Timothy Dailey
Maggie Ilersich
Stuart Gill
Katrina Goudey
Dorothy Lawrenson
Ram Hinojosa
Meg Griffitts
Jacob Massey
Paul Adams
Allison Myers
Phillip Mandel
John Edgar
Michaela Hansen
Shelby Newsom
Ashton Kamburoff
Graham Oliver

Faculty Advisor
Steve Wilson

Founding Editors
Michael Hart
Evelyn Lauer
Josh Magnuson
Toby Peterson
Michael Wolfe

Advisory Board
Katie Angermeier
Ben Engel
Evelyn Lauer
Herpreet Singh


logo for the CLMP

All photos were taken at the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center, by Sameera Kapila and Herpreet Singh.

Website design by Sameera Kapila