Matthew Henriksen

The Roof

The roof can't keep out
the sound of rain, nor eaves

ease sleep.
Tangled silence,

as you said "drown,"
drowned, stirred our vacancy.

Muting discretion,
our lips danced back

at loss, our ring,
where meaningless

plungings in a rumbling surface
(how the deaf dance)

in a lot full of rain
stared back out:

with distance, a warping,
so we won't come single file to burning shelves.


Holy tissue made of glass,

my tongue is a flame
you touch with your finger,

a flame I try to swallow, bitter
little bird I am, mother day.

Passé History Testes

Screwed brain to spine with nut & bolt
but forgot the washer in your pocket.
Make money, dinner & love in the closet
with the closest monkey you can afford. 

You love the monkey because you must
obey the law of a desert skull. 

Make your river snake. Tail feathers
fake a virile imagination, when every

monkey knows you oblate doom. 
Oh happy chance to've made

your life a feature loony tune,
and the gross product, a pearl

of cum on a cactus, does not bloom.

Matthew Henriksen is the author of Is Holy (horse less press, 2006), Another Word (DoubleCross Press, forthcoming), and Only Grows (Cue Editions, forthcoming). Recent poems appear online in The Cultural Society. He co-edits Typo, an online poetry journal, and produces Cannibal Books, a literary book arts press.


Executive Editor
Tom Grimes

Managing Editor
Jane Hawley

Co-Managing Editor
Reyes Ramirez

Poetry Editor
Jennifer Whalen

Fiction Editor
Stan Rivkin

Nonfiction Editor
Heather Lefebvre

Eric Blankenburg

Copy Editor
Sessa Kratz

Interviews Editor
Amanda Scott

Public Relations Manager
Samantha Tanner

Book Reviews Editor
Mallory Chesser

Blog Editor
Josh Lopez

Assistant Blog Editor
Alicia Salzmann

Sarah Howze
Dan Barton
Niko Kyriakou
Theresa Holden
Brandon Ricks
Casey Winters
Rachel Gray
Lawton Cook
Lauren Bull
Benjamin Seanor
James Deitz
Timothy Dailey
Maggie Ilersich
Stuart Gill
Katrina Goudey
Dorothy Lawrenson
Ram Hinojosa
Meg Griffitts
Jacob Massey
Paul Adams
Allison Myers
Phillip Mandel
John Edgar
Michaela Hansen
Shelby Newsom
Ashton Kamburoff
Graham Oliver

Faculty Advisor
Steve Wilson

Founding Editors
Michael Hart
Evelyn Lauer
Josh Magnuson
Toby Peterson
Michael Wolfe

Advisory Board
Katie Angermeier
Ben Engel
Evelyn Lauer
Herpreet Singh


logo for the CLMP

All photos were taken at the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center, by Sameera Kapila and Herpreet Singh.

Website design by Sameera Kapila