Jason Fraley

prelude to something ordinary 1

buckshot, give me
one of several exits
so I can inform
my flesh that I'll be
leaving soon, not yet,
but I wasn't welcomed
properly upon arrival-
let me take your
jacket, fedora, those
chopsticks knotted
in your fingers-
why is your hand-
shake sharp, fleeting


buckshot, how about
a nest of fur,
a reliquary defined
by warmth, not
solitude or the fine
taste of one's own
voice; in short,
a womb & no one
leaves the womb
willingly w/o fire
or some hope
that the light
outside can be dimmed
by eyelashes that
will soon grow in


buckshot, I unearthed
a poem / piece
of manuscript by
an unknown French
peasant, a self-
proclaimed heliotrope,
moss-skinned, acorns
for ears & nose,
who prayed to Helen:
vanishing point, vantage
 point, of which there
 must be several

distance is key,
a trigger causes hills,
adjacent & unseen,
to empty of eyes,
& theories & truths
those eyes may
or may not have seen
flutter away

Jason Fraley works as an investment advisor and compliance officer in Columbus, OH. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Forklift Ohio, No Tell Motel, The Hat, The Pedestal Magazine, Caketrain, and Fifth Wednesday Journal. He has a mini e-chap, Apropos of Nothing, online at Gold Wake Press. He vividly remembers his first front porch. His parents made him stick his hands and feet into the freshly poured concrete to memorialize the house being built. To this day, he does not trust concrete or porches.


Executive Editor
Tom Grimes

Managing Editor
Jane Hawley

Co-Managing Editor
Reyes Ramirez

Poetry Editor
Jennifer Whalen

Fiction Editor
Stan Rivkin

Nonfiction Editor
Heather Lefebvre

Eric Blankenburg

Copy Editor
Sessa Kratz

Interviews Editor
Amanda Scott

Public Relations Manager
Samantha Tanner

Book Reviews Editor
Mallory Chesser

Blog Editor
Josh Lopez

Assistant Blog Editor
Alicia Salzmann

Sarah Howze
Dan Barton
Niko Kyriakou
Theresa Holden
Brandon Ricks
Casey Winters
Rachel Gray
Lawton Cook
Lauren Bull
Benjamin Seanor
James Deitz
Timothy Dailey
Maggie Ilersich
Stuart Gill
Katrina Goudey
Dorothy Lawrenson
Ram Hinojosa
Meg Griffitts
Jacob Massey
Paul Adams
Allison Myers
Phillip Mandel
John Edgar
Michaela Hansen
Shelby Newsom
Ashton Kamburoff
Graham Oliver

Faculty Advisor
Steve Wilson

Founding Editors
Michael Hart
Evelyn Lauer
Josh Magnuson
Toby Peterson
Michael Wolfe

Advisory Board
Katie Angermeier
Ben Engel
Evelyn Lauer
Herpreet Singh


logo for the CLMP

All photos were taken at the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center, by Sameera Kapila and Herpreet Singh.

Website design by Sameera Kapila