from This is the Room


This is the room my relatives would not
Be caught in, the window view reversed in lint,
Interior as dim as a closed fridge, soft but unlit,

A fireplace that sits its time cold, centered, out,
A soldier with a palm flat on a mare's turned snout,

A tea set unstrummed, its glare in slant & strut
Against candelabrums, the piano chair slightly right
In return, lost songs cupped in the mirror's gut.

TFD is co-editor and publisher of Tammy. A recent chapbook, Dog the Man a Star, can be found online at Scantily Clad Press. Additional work appears in Denver Quarterly, American Letters & Commentary, Action Yes, Octopus, Eleven Eleven, and others. He appears in NY, Chicago, CA, or in MN.

"We have these wicker rocking chairs that are always moving on the porch, so when we sit on them things become stilled and it becomes easier to read. 

"One porch in northern Minnesota was at the perfect height to get a view of the tiny lake only canoes were allowed on; Faulkner worked well here. 

"In undergrad I lived in a house called the Lit House and our porch faced the main road in which every car that approached the long haul up the little hill to the small private campus became relevant. We gathered there for what we called Porch Thought, which became the title of my first chapbook."


Executive Editor
Tom Grimes

Managing Editor
Jane Hawley

Co-Managing Editor
Reyes Ramirez

Poetry Editor
Jennifer Whalen

Fiction Editor
Stan Rivkin

Nonfiction Editor
Heather Lefebvre

Eric Blankenburg

Copy Editor
Sessa Kratz

Interviews Editor
Amanda Scott

Public Relations Manager
Samantha Tanner

Book Reviews Editor
Mallory Chesser

Blog Editor
Josh Lopez

Assistant Blog Editor
Alicia Salzmann

Sarah Howze
Dan Barton
Niko Kyriakou
Theresa Holden
Brandon Ricks
Casey Winters
Rachel Gray
Lawton Cook
Lauren Bull
Benjamin Seanor
James Deitz
Timothy Dailey
Maggie Ilersich
Stuart Gill
Katrina Goudey
Dorothy Lawrenson
Ram Hinojosa
Meg Griffitts
Jacob Massey
Paul Adams
Allison Myers
Phillip Mandel
John Edgar
Michaela Hansen
Shelby Newsom
Ashton Kamburoff
Graham Oliver

Faculty Advisor
Steve Wilson

Founding Editors
Michael Hart
Evelyn Lauer
Josh Magnuson
Toby Peterson
Michael Wolfe

Advisory Board
Katie Angermeier
Ben Engel
Evelyn Lauer
Herpreet Singh


logo for the CLMP

All photos were taken at the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center, by Sameera Kapila and Herpreet Singh.

Website design by Sameera Kapila