Sam Pink


Yesterday I was walking around Pilsen Neighborhood, in Chicago, and I went beneath a small overpass. There were crowns graffiti’d upside down on the walls and a man sleeping on the slope of the overpass’s underside, with four milk jugs lined up him, and a shopping cart. On the other side of the overpass, the bushes along the sidewalk started shaking. A city worker in a neon yellow vest and badge came out of the bushes. She wore a small sweaty baseball hat and wiped her face with the shoulder of her neon yellow vest. She held big clippers, a handle in each hand. Without looking at me, she said, “This be how they get you. Jumping out from a bush atcha.” And I said, “Yeah” like, “sadly, yeah” like I knew that that was how they get you. But, I did not know that was how they get you. The city worker whistled one quick note and kept clipping.

Sam Pink is the author of The No Hellos Diet, Hurt Others, Person, The Self-Esteem Holocaust Comes Home, Frowns Need Friends Too, I Am Going To Clone Myself Then Kill the Clone and Eat It, Rontel, and The Collected Suicide Notes, a poetry collection forthcoming from Lazy Fascist Press. He lives in Chicago where he breeds ghost horses and prepares for his championship bout with Sammy “Thousand-Eyed Darkness” Fitzsimmons in the Limbo Dome.


Executive Editor
Tom Grimes

Managing Editor
Jane Hawley

Co-Managing Editor
Reyes Ramirez

Poetry Editor
Jennifer Whalen

Fiction Editor
Stan Rivkin

Nonfiction Editor
Heather Lefebvre

Eric Blankenburg

Copy Editor
Sessa Kratz

Interviews Editor
Amanda Scott

Public Relations Manager
Samantha Tanner

Book Reviews Editor
Mallory Chesser

Blog Editor
Josh Lopez

Assistant Blog Editor
Alicia Salzmann

Sarah Howze
Dan Barton
Niko Kyriakou
Theresa Holden
Brandon Ricks
Casey Winters
Rachel Gray
Lawton Cook
Lauren Bull
Benjamin Seanor
James Deitz
Timothy Dailey
Maggie Ilersich
Stuart Gill
Katrina Goudey
Dorothy Lawrenson
Ram Hinojosa
Meg Griffitts
Jacob Massey
Paul Adams
Allison Myers
Phillip Mandel
John Edgar
Michaela Hansen
Shelby Newsom
Ashton Kamburoff
Graham Oliver

Faculty Advisor
Steve Wilson

Founding Editors
Michael Hart
Evelyn Lauer
Josh Magnuson
Toby Peterson
Michael Wolfe

Advisory Board
Katie Angermeier
Ben Engel
Evelyn Lauer
Herpreet Singh


logo for the CLMP

All photos were taken at the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center, by Sameera Kapila and Herpreet Singh.

Website design by Sameera Kapila